Results From 8/2/2016 Primary Elections

Filed under: The Sunny Morning Show,U.P. News Updates |
Election Day.

Election Day

Marquette, MI – (Great Lakes Radio News) –  In the three-way Democratic race in the for Marquette County Sheriff, Chocolay Township Police Chief Greg Zyburt won the primary race with 4,241 votes, followed by Sheriff’s Deputy Lowell Larson with 3,696 votes and current Marquette County Undersheriff Mike Klein finishing with 2,649 votes. No Republican candidates have entered that race.

Also in Marquette County, voters passed a millage renewal for the Iron Ore Heritage Recreation Authority that would allow for the continued building, managing and maintaining of the 47-mile Iron Ore Heritage Trail. The millage requests had to pass in a total of seven municipalities for it to go into effect, and it did so by a vote of 6,225 yes to 2,024 no.

In the race for the 1st Congressional District seat being vacated by retiring Congressman Dan Benishek, former chair of the Michigan Democratic Party Lon Johnson of Kalkaska beat former Kalkaska County Sheriff Jerry Cannon in the Democratic primary.  Johnson had 31,677 votes to Cannon’s 12,539.  He will face retired Marine Lt. General Jack Bergman of Watersmeet in the November 8th General Election.  Bergman beat out State Senator Tom Casperson of Escanaba in the Republican primary by a final tally of 33,624 to 27,811.  Former State Senator Jason Allen of Traverse City finished third in the Republican primary with 25,604 votes.  The district includes all of Upper Michigan and a portion of northern Lower Michigan including Traverse City, Petoskey and Alpena.

In the race for the 109th District in the Michigan House, Democrat incumbent John Kivela of Marquette defeated challenger Sara Cambensy of Marquette by a final vote of 7,168 to 4,095. Kivela now moves on to take on Republican Kevin Pfister of Manistique in November. Pfister beat out Melody Patterson of Gwinn by a vote of 2,600 to 1882. The 109th District covers Marquette, Alger, Luce and Schoolcraft Counties.

In the 108th District which covers Delta, Dickinson and Menominee Counties, on the Republican side, Beau LaFave of Iron Mountain won the primary with 4,055 votes. Alan Arcand of Iron Mountain finished with 2,909 votes and Darryl Shann of Bark River had 2,258. LaFave will run against Democratic primary winner Scott Cellelo of Iron Mountain who got 3,344 to Dana Dziedzic of Carney’s 2,415. Current 108th District Republican State representative Ed McBroom of Vulcan is term-limited out.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

9 − 1 =