Disaster Designation Approved for 16 Mich Counties

Filed under: U.P. News Updates |

Great Lakes Radio News UpdateMARQUETTE, MI – (Great Lakes Radio News)President Barack Obama has approved a disaster designation for 16 Michigan counties, including 6 in the U.P., affected by severe spring floods.

The U.P. counties included are: Baraga, Gogebic, Houghton, Keweenaw, Marquette and Ontonagon.  The declaration clears the way for enhanced federal aid to individuals, families, businesses and local governments.

Back-to-back downpours in late April caused rivers across Michigan to swell, flooding homes and businesses and causing residents to flee by the thousands.

Earlier this month, Governor Rick Snyder and U.S. Senators Carl Levin and Debbie Stabenow pressed Obama to declare the disaster area.

State officials along with FEMA estimate that repairs to damaged public infrastructure could cost approximately $18.5 million.

Great Lakes Radio – Delivering reliable and accurate local news to you on air, online and on demand

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

seventeen + 8 =